× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryBolivia
State/ProvinceSanta Cruz
LocalityBuena Vista, 3.7 Km Sse, Hotel Flora Y Fauna
Latitude-17.4991667
Longitude-63.5525
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number491630
Collected ByLeschen, Richard
Date Collected2002-11-05

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameThoracophorus guadelupensis
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyStaphylinidae
GenusThoracophorus
Specific Epithetguadelupensis
Specimen
Identified ByIrmler, Ulrich
Date Identified2005
Catalog Number491630
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID3c1ab75c-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByLeschen, Richard
Date Collected2002-11-05
Year2002
Month11
Day5
Locality
CountryBolivia
State / ProvinceSanta Cruz
Higher GeographyBolivia, Santa Cruz
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityBuena Vista, 3.7 km SSE, Hotel Flora Y Fauna
Decimal Latitude-17.4991667
Decimal Longitude-63.5525000
Maximum Elevation in Meters440
Minimum Elevation in Meters400
specimen list