× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryNicaragua
State/ProvinceNueva Segovia
LocalityJalapa, 9 Km Nw
Latitude13.98453
Longitude-86.19004
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1112152
Collected ByLlama Project
Date Collected2011-05-29

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameHeterothops
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyStaphylinidae
GenusHeterothops
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number1112152
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID4938ba04-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByLLAMA Project
Date Collected2011-05-29
Year2011
Month5
Day29
Locality
CountryNicaragua
State / ProvinceNueva Segovia
Higher GeographyNicaragua, Nueva Segovia
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityJalapa, 9 km NW
Decimal Latitude13.98453
Decimal Longitude-86.19004
Maximum Elevation in Meters1780
Minimum Elevation in Meters1780
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list