× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceGuarico
LocalitySan Nicolasito, Marsh E Of
Latitude8.1452167
Longitude-66.3433
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1273918
Collected ByMiller, Kelly
Date Collected2009-01-11

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameMegadytes marginithorax
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyDytiscidae
GenusMegadytes
Specific Epithetmarginithorax
Specimen
Identified ByMiller, Kelly
Date Identified2011
Catalog Number1273918
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Sexunknown
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence IDd2397896-a805-465a-822d-7a197aceef1c
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByMiller, Kelly
Date Collected2009-01-11
Year2009
Month1
Day11
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceGuarico
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Guarico
ContinentNeotropical
LocalitySan Nicolasito, marsh E of
Decimal Latitude8.1452167
Decimal Longitude-66.3433000
Maximum Elevation in Meters74
Minimum Elevation in Meters74
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list