× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryParaguay
State/ProvinceCaazapa
LocalitySan Rafael Reserve, Hermosa, Prop. Sosa Family
Latitude-26.3208333
Longitude-55.7486111
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number280021
Collected ByFalin, Zachary
Date Collected2000-12-04

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameColopterus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyNitidulidae
GenusColopterus
Specimen
Identified ByCline, Andrew
Date Identified2003
Catalog Number280021
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID34f1d25d-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByFalin, Zachary
Date Collected2000-12-04
Year2000
Month12
Day4
Locality
CountryParaguay
State / ProvinceCaazapa
Higher GeographyParaguay, Caazapa
ContinentNeotropical
LocalitySan Rafael Reserve, Hermosa, prop. Sosa family
Habitatfruit, rotting, under
Decimal Latitude-26.3208333
Decimal Longitude-55.7486111
Maximum Elevation in Meters90
Minimum Elevation in Meters90
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list