× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceWashington
County/ParishYakima
LocalityToppenish
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1171026
Collected ByDavis, E
Date Collected1925-11-06

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameSigara washingtonensis
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyCorixidae
GenusSigara
Specific Epithetwashingtonensis
Specimen
Catalog Number1171026
PreparationsPinned
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID55c21d6b-f480-47b6-bf63-7b225b2f0c6e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp68380466184742492610.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected ByDavis, E
Date Collected1925-11-06
Year1925
Month11
Day6
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceWashington
CountyYakima
Higher GeographyUnited States, Washington, Yakima
ContinentNearctic
LocalityToppenish
Verbatim LocalityToppenish, Wn
specimen list