× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryParaguay
State/ProvinceItapua
LocalitySan Rafael Reserve, Karonay, 17 Km W,
Latitude-26.7647222
Longitude-55.8436111
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number276312
Collected ByFalin, Zachary
Date Collected2000-11-19

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameColopterus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyNitidulidae
GenusColopterus
Specimen
Identified ByCline, Andrew
Date Identified2003
Catalog Number276312
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID23d9e18f-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByFalin, Zachary
Date Collected2000-11-19
Year2000
Month11
Day19
Locality
CountryParaguay
State / ProvinceItapua
Higher GeographyParaguay, Itapua
ContinentNeotropical
LocalitySan Rafael Reserve, Karonay, 17 km W,
Habitatfruit, rotting
Decimal Latitude-26.7647222
Decimal Longitude-55.8436111
Maximum Elevation in Meters110
Minimum Elevation in Meters90
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list