× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

LocalityIndian Ocean/madagascar, Tulear To Mauritius; Madagascar
Latitude-10.5
Longitude61.1667
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeFishes
Catalog Number307655
Collected ByCrew
Date Collected1989-01-08

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameTentoriceps cristatus
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Osteichthyes, Actinopterygii, Neopterygii, Acanthopterygii, Perciformes, Scrombroidei, Trichiuridae, Lepidopodinae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassActinopterygii
OrderPerciformes
FamilyTrichiuridae
GenusTentoriceps
Specific Epithetcristatus
Specimen
Catalog Number307655
Individual Count2
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeFishes
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/31925f60f-19d7-4864-8617-2502a8507480
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Collection Event
Collected ByCrew
Field NumberDOT-87; BUT 36
Date Collected1989-01-08
Verbatim Date Collected1989 Jan 08 - 0000 00 00
Year1989
Month1
Day8
Start Day of Year8
End Day of Year8
Locality
Higher GeographyIndian
Water BodyIndian
LocalityIndian Ocean/Madagascar, Tulear To Mauritius; Madagascar
Decimal Latitude-10.5
Decimal Longitude61.1667
Verbatim Latitude103000S
Verbatim Longitude0611000E
Maximum Depth in Meters115
Minimum Depth in Meters110
Location ID2809
Other
IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/31925f60f-19d7-4864-8617-2502a8507480
dwc:datasetID7ddf754f-d193-4cc9-b351-99906754a03b
dwc:institutionIDhttp://biocol.org/urn:lsid:biocol.org:col:34871
dwc:verbatimCoordinateSystemDegrees Minutes Seconds
specimen list