× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAfrica
CountryUganda
State/ProvinceWestern Region
County/ParishMasindi
LocalityNabea [nyabyeya]
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeMammals
Catalog Number236971
Collected ByH. Raven
Date Collected1920-07-10

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NamePan troglodytes schweinfurthii
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Mammalia, Eutheria, Primates, Haplorrhini, Hominidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassMammalia
OrderPrimates
FamilyHominidae
GenusPan
Specific Epithettroglodytes
Infraspecific Epithetschweinfurthii
Taxon Ranksubspecies
Specimen
Identified ByHelgen, Kristofer M., University of Adelaide (AUSTRALIA)
Catalog Number236971
PreparationsSkin; Skull; Skeleton; Remainder in Fluid
Individual Count1
Life StageAdult
SexFemale
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeMammals
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/31ae4df0c-2efb-4348-81c8-c44da3dbaefe
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Associated Media14602914
Collection Event
Collected ByH. Raven
Collector Number4201
Date Collected1920-07-10
Verbatim Date Collected10 Jul 1920
Year1920
Month7
Day10
Start Day of Year192
End Day of Year192
Collection RemarksItem was destructively sampled. Tissue and/or parts (hair samples) were sent to Christopher Walker, Duke University, on 20 Jun 2013. For reference, see Transaction No. 2064590
Locality
CountryUganda
State / ProvinceWestern Region
CountyMasindi
Higher GeographyAfrica, Uganda, Western Region, Masindi
ContinentAfrica
LocalityNabea [Nyabyeya]
specimen list