× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAsia
CountryJapan
LocalityCape Tsiuka, S. 61 Degrees W., 10.6 Miles.(from Hakodate, Japan, To Ebisu, Sado Island, Sea Of Japan (via Tsugaru Strait)).
Latitude41.5972
Longitude140.613
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeFishes
Catalog Number104947
Date Collected1906-07-16

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameScyliorhinus torazame
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Chondrichthyes, Chondrichthyes, Elasmobranchii, Euselachii, Carcharhiniformes, Scyliorhinidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassChondrichthyes
OrderCarcharhiniformes
FamilyScyliorhinidae
GenusScyliorhinus
Specific Epithettorazame
Specimen
Catalog Number104947
Individual Count1
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeFishes
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3891b2df0-0b23-4cd7-900b-f517876c2184
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Collection Event
Date Collected1906-07-16
Verbatim Date Collected1906 Jul 16 - 0000 00 00; 09:42 - 10:15
Year1906
Month7
Day16
Start Day of Year197
End Day of Year197
Locality
CountryJapan
Higher GeographyPacific, Sea of Japan, Japan, Hokkaido
Continentasia
Water BodyPacific, Sea of Japan
IslandHokkaido
LocalityCape Tsiuka, S. 61 degrees W., 10.6 miles.(From Hakodate, Japan, to Ebisu, Sado Island, Sea of Japan (via Tsugaru Strait)).
Decimal Latitude41.5972
Decimal Longitude140.613
Verbatim Latitude413550N
Verbatim Longitude1403645E
Minimum Depth in Meters86
Georeference ProtocolChart
Location IDD 4808
Other
IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3891b2df0-0b23-4cd7-900b-f517876c2184
dwc:datasetID7ddf754f-d193-4cc9-b351-99906754a03b
dwc:institutionIDhttp://biocol.org/urn:lsid:biocol.org:col:34871
dwc:verbatimCoordinateSystemDegrees Minutes Seconds
specimen list